THE COMMONWEALTH JUDICIAL EDUCATION INSTITUTE Patrons The Hon. Mayann E. Francis (Lt. Gov. of Nova Scotia) Commonwealth Chief Justices The Rt. Hon. Mr. Justice Michael de la Bastide TC The Rt. Hon. The Lord Woolf The Rt. Hon. Edward Zacca H.E. Dr. L.M. Singhvi The Hon. Chief Justice (R) Ahmadi The Hon. Chief Justice (R) Bhagwati The Hon. Chief Justice (R) Hilario G. Davide, Jr. The Hon. Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban Lady Enid Ralphs, OBE Board of Directors The Rt. Hon. Chief Justice Sir Dennis Byron, President The Hon. Judge Sandra E. Oxner, Chairperson The Rt. Hon. Chief Justice Beverley McLachlin, Canada The Hon. Justice Sophia Akuffo, Ghana The Hon. Justice Neil Buckley, Australia The Hon. Justice Annel Silungwe, Namibia The Hon. Judge Gertrude Chawatama, Zambia Chief Magistrate Joe Raulinga, South Africa Professor Michael Deturbide, Canada Mr. Larry Smith, CA, Treasurer Professor John A. Yogis, QC, Canada Advisory Board The Hon. Mr. Justice Joseph D. Camilleri – Malta The Hon. Mr. Justice D.K. Chirwa – Zambia The Hon. Judge Nancy A. Flatters – Canada The Hon. Mr. Justice Md. Hamidul Haque – Bangladesh Mr. Moazzam Hayat – Pakistan The Hon. Mr. Justice Brian W. Lennox – Canada Mr. John McGinness – Canberra, Australia Dr. N.R. Madhava Menon – India Mr. Richard Moss – New Zealand The Hon. Mr. Justice R.R. Mzikamanda – Malawi His Hon. Judge John Phillips – England and Wales The Hon. Justice Hugh A. Rawlins – OECS Professor Greg Reinhardt – Melbourne, Australia Ms. Cecile Van Riet, Justice College – South Africa His Honour Judge William Rose – England and Wales Mr. E.J. Schmatt – Sydney, Australia Mr. Rex Shana – Zimbabwe The Hon. Mr. Justice Annel M. Silungwe – Namibia The Hon. Mr. Justice Soza – Sri Lanka Mr. George M. Thomson – Canada The Hon. Mr. Justice J.W.N. Tsekooko – Uganda & East African Jud. Ed. Com. The Hon. Judge Rya Zobel – Boston, Mass. Room 306, Dalhousie Law School, Halifax, Nova Scotia, B3H 4H9 Telephone: (902) 494-1002 Facsimile: (902) 494-1031 Email:

February 20, 2008  The Honourable Chief Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry Dear Chief Justice Chaudhry, I have been very distressed at my inability to get through to you since the beginning of the Pakistan judicial crisis. We have been able to contact Justice Jillani, Justice Rabbani, Justice Khosa and Justice Alam and I hope you may know from one of them of our attempts to be supportive and helpful to you. I was only today put in touch with Athar Minallah and it is through his kindness that I am able to send this message.   In addition to our other efforts to influence the restoration of the proper judiciary of Pakistan, we have created a special Award of Honour for you and your colleagues who so nobly and unselfishly exhibited great judicial valour in upholding the Constitution. We have also prepared a small leaflet on our perception of the damage to democracy done by your and your colleagues’ removal from the Bench and we are planning to circulate that to all the members of the new Parliament next week along with an appeal for them to restore the judiciary. We also will give notification of our Award of Honour to you and the respect in which you are held internationally.   Please let me know of anything else we can do to be of support. We are very happy that you and your family are well.  Please give my warmest best wishes to your wife. You have both endured so much.   Sincerely,   Sandra E. Oxner